How Do You Make The "pool" Look On A Cake?

Decorating By dydemus Updated 21 Jun 2006 , 2:28pm by puzzlegut

dydemus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dydemus Posted 18 Jun 2006 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 22

I have a request to do a "pool" cake for a pool party. I see people use piping gel for the water look. I've never used piping gel before. Is it that stuff in the tubes? Do you have to build a well for it in the top of the cake? or just build up a rim with icing? I don't really know where to start!!!

21 replies
Samsgranny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Samsgranny Posted 18 Jun 2006 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 22

I would like to know the answer to this question as well as I just got the horseshoe pan and want to make a waterslide cake for the kids. Is this the piping gel that comes in the tubs? And do you mix a flavor in it or just straight piping gel? Or is this the colored piping gel already mixed in the tubes? Please advise.

flayvurdfun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flayvurdfun Posted 18 Jun 2006 , 5:40pm
post #3 of 22

the stuff in the tubes is a like what you need. I have used that too, it gives you the same idea but can be darker then you really want and thats when it's best to use regular piping gel. I prefer the look of colored piping gel... it's in a white tub and is clear. It's easily colored though with the color gels.

dydemus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dydemus Posted 18 Jun 2006 , 5:46pm
post #4 of 22

thanks! that's what I was confused about

Rodneyck Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rodneyck Posted 18 Jun 2006 , 5:49pm
post #5 of 22

No, it is done with jello.

Here they are, just click on the cake and they give you detailed instructions on how to create a pool.

http://www.womansday.com/article.asp?section_id=2&article_id=7310

KimAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KimAZ Posted 18 Jun 2006 , 6:39pm
post #6 of 22