Best Decorating Secrets And Tips?!!!

Decorating By frog80 Updated 29 Jul 2013 , 9:43pm by Homemadebytz

frog80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frog80 Posted 14 Jun 2006 , 10:11pm
post #1 of 83

I'm fairly new to cake decorating and as you can tell, very new to the site, anywho, I was just curious as to some of the pros best kept secrets and tips! I love learning about new and easier ways to do things. I was just wondering if any of you would mind sharing some of your tips! Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif

82 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 14 Jun 2006 , 10:16pm
post #2 of 83

My top 3 favorite cake deco "secrets" (not really secrets here at CC icon_lol.gif) are the paper towel smoothing/patterning technique, making my own edible images, and using Americolor gels to color my frosting.

Oooh...I have to add one more MMF (marshmallow fondant)!

okred Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
okred Posted 14 Jun 2006 , 10:23pm
post #3 of 83

I'm not a pro but some things I have learned (and you will learn something everyday) are to use a scale to weigh ingredients instead of measuring, to clean tips by putting them in a bowl of soapy water and putting them in the microwave even the metal ones, to make your own cake release with 1/3 oil, 1/3 flour, and 1/3 crisco and to use a silicone pastry brush to coat the pans with the mixture.

Just read all the old forum threads and you will learn a lot.!!

oh yeah and MMF also, best one yet

poppie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poppie Posted 14 Jun 2006 , 10:26pm
post #4 of 83

learn from Lisa she is the best. thumbs_up.gif

tgirl22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tgirl22 Posted 14 Jun 2006 , 10:30pm
post #5 of 83

Buttercream transfer!!! You can do ANYTHING with a buttercream transfer! Well, almost.....
Welcome to CC, you will soon be addicted...

candyladyhelen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
candyladyhelen Posted 14 Jun 2006 , 10:38pm
post #6 of 83