Help!! Cupcakes, Cupcakes

Decorating By Mas Updated 14 Jun 2006 , 6:16pm by JoAnnB

Mas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mas Posted 13 Jun 2006 , 5:52pm
post #1 of 9

Hi, I'm a newbie. I was asked whether I am interested in supplying cupcakes for a thousand wedding guests sometime in January next year, going to split it with another friend making it 500 cupcakes between us. We haven't agreed on anything yet, still trying to figure out the best way to handle 500 cupcakes plus the decoration and the casing for the cupcakes. Any ideas on how early can we bake and decorate the cupcakes and what's the best solution to the type of BC that should be used?

8 replies
Samsgranny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Samsgranny Posted 13 Jun 2006 , 6:16pm
post #2 of 9

First of all welcome to the Board. Wow, 1,000 cupcakes, that's mind boggling! Sure anxious to hear what our friends at CC have to say as I am clueless. Best of luck!

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 13 Jun 2006 , 6:16pm
post #3 of 9

I would definitely bake them ahead of time even a week or more before the event and freeze them! Then maybe start icing a day or two ahead of time. As for the decorations that all depends on what you're doing.......if you want bc roses or something those freeze well too and could be made at least a week ahead and frozen on pieces of wax paper in a sealed container. I've never frozen iced cakes or cupcakes but I've read that some do with no problems......so maybe you'd want to try that out and then you'd really be in no rush. I personally would probably make the bc ahead of time and the cupcakes and the flowers and then just ice and plop on the flowers as close to the event as possible. Casing for the cupcakes??? not sure what that means...if you mean like a display antonia74 has a really cool idea.... http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-22674.html

you can see the stand and the directions here if you're interested....