Question On Mmf

Decorating By Chrisi Updated 15 May 2007 , 12:46pm by Chrisi

Chrisi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chrisi Posted 14 May 2007 , 11:36am
post #1 of 11

This is my first time making the MMF. I am going to be using the recipe from here that uses the marshmallow fluff vs. the whole marshmallows. I plan to use it to cover an 8" square 4" tall cake.
Question 1: Has anyone used this recipe?
Question 2: How much does it make? How much cake will it cover?
Question 3: Can I use a KA to mix it instead of using a spoon?
Question 4: Do I have to add coloring in the beginning or can I color it once it's blended?

I know this is a lot, but I want to know exactly what I'm dealing with before I jump into it. icon_rolleyes.gif
I am a Wilotn instructor and I am trying to compare the fondants. See if one works better for my students. icon_wink.gif

Thank you in advance.

10 replies
darcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darcat Posted 14 May 2007 , 11:45am
post #2 of 11

I made the mmf last week for the first time and I also made the one from toba for the first time and I have to say the the toba one wins hands down, its so much less messy than the mmf and was very easy and fast to make. I added almond flavour and loved the taste its on the mothers day cake in my pics (little pink one) When I put the mmf on my cake I found that it cracked and tore but not so with toba's JMHO. hope this helps.

Chrisi Posted 14 May 2007 , 11:50am
post #3 of 11

What is toba's JMHO?

darcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darcat Posted 14 May 2007 , 11:51am
post #4 of 11

just my honest opinion lol

Biya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Biya Posted 14 May 2007 , 11:57am
post #5 of 11