Bc Icing

Decorating By tdun Updated 13 May 2007 , 2:22pm by indydebi

tdun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tdun Posted 13 May 2007 , 2:27am
post #1 of 5

i get my icing smooth but not as smooth as i would like .I use the hot water and spatual method . PLease help.

4 replies
mizshelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mizshelli Posted 13 May 2007 , 2:34am
post #2 of 5

Melvira. Easy and simple...lol

I have also used sheet paper from my computer to smooth after it crusts.

http://cakecentral.com/article83-Quick--Easy-Smooth-Icing-Using-a-Roller-Melvira-Method.html

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 13 May 2007 , 4:05am
post #3 of 5

Melvira. 100%.

I've been doing cakes for over 25 years, and THIS old dog is bought and sold on Melvira's Method, which I just used for the first time about a month or so ago.

you'll never go back to any other method.

aminaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aminaz Posted 13 May 2007 , 11:19am
post #4 of 5

i'm new to cake decorating, so its probably a dumb question but what is the melvira method? how does it work? does it work with buttercream that does'nt crust? how can you get bettercream to crust without being over sweet?how can you smooth a cake with non crusting buttercream?
sorry for asking so muck but like i said i'm a newbie!!!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 13 May 2007 , 2:22pm
post #5 of 5

http://cakecentral.com/article83-Quick--Easy-Smooth-Icing-Using-a-Roller-Melvira-Method.html

Melvira's method is on the home page ..... scrolll down. Above is the link.

Crusting is a result of the fat to sugar ratio in your recipe. The more fat, the less crusting.