Cake For Funeral Luncheon

Decorating By zookeeper8 Updated 7 May 2007 , 12:07pm by Jenteach

zookeeper8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zookeeper8 Posted 5 May 2007 , 3:19am
post #1 of 16

How do you do a cake for that? They don't want his picture or any writing on it. I don't see much out there for pics either (guess it's not so popular, huh?) It's going to be a 12x18 sheet. Flowers? (which I'm not good at icon_cry.gif ) If anyone has done something like this PLEASE post pics!

15 replies
funfoodie2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
funfoodie2 Posted 5 May 2007 , 3:44am
post #2 of 16

Maybe just make it look elegant like a wedding cake. They usually don't have pics or writing on them. You can do dots and/or lace, if you don't want to do flowers.

sweetviolent Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetviolent Posted 5 May 2007 , 3:49am
post #3 of 16

maybe just a sheet with some pretty flowers and a nice border- simple not to fussy or perky- is it for a man or woman ??

if not flowers - I did some rosettes with a dot of color -the kristins bridal in my pics - just simple
with a nice full border

Jenae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenae Posted 5 May 2007 , 3:51am
post #4 of 16

Would it have to be decorated cake?

When my grandmother passed away, I remember the most wonderful lemon cake (bundt) with a simple lemon glaze.

I don't remember any other food that was brought, but that's just me being a cake addict. icon_smile.gif

alicegop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alicegop Posted 5 May 2007 , 3:56am
post #5 of 16

Simple definitely better in this case.... man do I hate making sheet cakes. Frost with a simple border, maybe use colored frosting to make it a little more distinguishable from a grocery store cake. You could just do squares to show serving sizes maybe...

Have you thought of using fondant? You could use a diamond cutter with 2 colors of fondant that create a pattern like a sweater. Kinda cool looking, plain and appropriate for a man.