**what Does Your Walmart Charge For A Full Sheet?!?!**

Decorating By mmdd Updated 15 May 2015 , 2:37am by Jenn123

jmt1714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmt1714 Posted 26 May 2006 , 12:56pm
post #31 of 80

you have to remember that you can't be everything to everyone. I am just starting out, but I already know that I will never be the cheapest cake. But I will have high quality and great taste and wonderful decorations. There are different markets. A Wal-Mart cake is great for people looking for a bargain, but you do usually get what you pay for.

Don't try to compete, and don't feel you have to justify your price. It is what it is. Not everyone will buy from you, but you can't give it away. Your time is valuable too.

jmt1714 Posted 26 May 2006 , 1:03pm
post #32 of 80

I'm a little rusty on "standard" sizes, but I think you all are nuts to charge $20 for ANY cake. Pricing is hard, I admit. I'm just starting to sell cakes, but I start my 9x13 cakes at $50, and that is just buttercream and a border and basic plaque and message. I add to that if they want gumpaste flowers, decorations, etc. I was hesitant to quote my first order b/c I too thought, well, that is high for a cake, but the customer didn't even blink.

smashcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smashcakes Posted 26 May 2006 , 1:03pm
post #33 of 80

i called my local target because i had a large cake for the first time, and they only charged 33.00 for a whole sheet that feeds 80!!! ach. so, i called a local bakery, and their price was about 73.00, so that's closer to what i end up charging. i charged 80 recently for a 2- layer 11x15 with a round oval on top decorated to look like a basket of pansies still cheap, but for my area, not too cheap

cakesbgood Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbgood Posted 26 May 2006 , 1:04pm
post #34 of 80