How Do I Or What Do You All Use....

Decorating By Liezee22 Updated 7 May 2007 , 3:09am by gateaux

Liezee22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Liezee22 Posted 4 May 2007 , 2:55pm
post #1 of 17

to bake a cake and make it half/half? I am thinking of using a foil dam but will that work? I have to make a cake for my friends daughter as a going away cake. She is moving to California. I am doing a cake that is 11x15 and the kids want white/chocolate. I am thinking of doing a drawing of the state and marking the state capital and also the place of where the girl is moving. My daughter loves this idea but they are only 13 so I was thinking of something a little more fun! what do you all think? Remember I am still new to this so make it easy on me! icon_biggrin.gif
thanks
Liezee22

16 replies
mcalhoun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcalhoun Posted 4 May 2007 , 3:49pm
post #2 of 17

I have never done it but have read where people do make a dam out of foil to do a half and half cake. I have also read where two people pour batter into the pan at the same time. As for tour design for the marker you could make a fantasy flower - that would add a little girly touch to it. Also you could put some around the sides.
HTH
Melissa

nutcase68 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nutcase68 Posted 4 May 2007 , 3:59pm
post #3 of 17

When I did my half and half cake I supported one side of my pan on a rolled towel and put the batter in the low half. I mixed my other batter and poured it in the pan and pulled out the towel. The middle had a 45 degree angle of both flavors. Looked kind of cool. madhatter.gif
mary icon_smile.gif

mgdqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgdqueen Posted 4 May 2007 , 4:07pm
post #4 of 17