New To Teaching... Could Use Some Help.

Decorating By Calejo Updated 17 May 2005 , 3:46pm by Calejo

Calejo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Calejo Posted 10 May 2005 , 5:13am
post #1 of 13

I started cake decorating a year ago in a bakery, and have taken the Wilton courses too. I just recently got a job teaching others how to cake decorate, and my classes start in a few weeks. Needless to say, I'm biting my non-existent nails here. I'll be teaching everything from the basics to wedding cakes, and although I can do these things, it's another thing to teach others to do them too.

Long and the short of it is, I need some advice on how to approach this. Not only am I the "new kid on the block" and will have some of the store employees in my class which already took the previous lady's class (no pressure), and a few return customers, but I am also new to teaching cake decorating to a large group of people.

Stress... level.... rising.....

12 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 10 May 2005 , 5:34am
post #2 of 13

Well I've never taught cake decorating but I have taught middle school Language Arts and high school English. The best advice I can give you is to try and put yourself in their seat. If the class is on basics, don't breeze through it thinking it's easy...your students might end up lost. Teach everything as if you're teaching aliens from another planet--LOL! Be specific, descriptive, attentive and share your own stories about how you started out, what was hard for you, what you love (time permitting). Be funny if you can, admit it if you make a mistake, if a question is asked and you don't know the answer...say so. No one knows it all. That's all I can think of right now. You'll do great! We had a saying...Never leave your coffee unattended but I don't think you'll need that one icon_razz.gif