Us To European Weights/measures

Baking By Clipper Updated 3 May 2007 , 7:23am by Clipper

Clipper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Clipper Posted 2 May 2007 , 9:50am
post #1 of 12

Hello, I'm an amateur cake decorator in Ireland, and I have to admit that American recipes confuse me no end.
Firstly, the whole 'cup' business - when using this as a measure of weight, (ie not liquid) how do I convert it to oz? Can I convert it to oz? If not, how big a cup? (I told you I was confused...)
Flours - when staying 'cake flour' or just 'flour' in a recipe, do you mean plain or self-raising?
Shortening - I am assuming thats butter/ margerine?
Any guidance gratefully recieved. I would love to try more of the recipes but they wreck my head a litte. icon_confused.gif

11 replies
MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikeRowesHunny Posted 2 May 2007 , 10:15am
post #2 of 12

Hi! I'm not American, but I use lots of American recipes. There is this great website that will convert measures into all kinds of equivalents:

http://www.convert-me.com/en/convert/cooking

but I do find that with the US recipes, it's best to stick with how they are written for the best results! Do you have a large supermarket (Tesco, Asda, Morrisons etc), near you? If you have, go to the kitchenwares section (where you'll find the pyrex bowls, baking sheets, cake pans, jugs etc), and there you will find sets of measuring cups - a set of 4 held together by a key ring type ring - use those and you'll have no problems - promise!

Shortening is solid vegetable fat - White Flora or Trex would be your equivalents. My advice, don't make buttercream with it - it's the most vile thing that you could put in your mouth, stick to butter (or margarine for economy/practice), your liver and taste buds will thank you!

If a recipe says flour, use plain, if it says cake flour, use self-raising.

Hope that helps!

hktaitai Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hktaitai Posted 2 May 2007 , 10:21am
post #3 of 12