My Cake Has A Hump

Decorating By jacobsmommy Updated 3 May 2007 , 2:49pm by Janette

jacobsmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jacobsmommy Posted 2 May 2007 , 12:51am
post #1 of 19

When i made my round cake the other day, instead of being flat it had a hump. Im not sure what else to call it. Im new to cake decorating so im not sure of the lingo yet. lol. Does anyone know what i did wrong???

18 replies
crumbscakeartistry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crumbscakeartistry Posted 2 May 2007 , 1:13am
post #2 of 19

That is how they cook. You can use a flower nail, press it down when it is hot, or cut off the excess with a knife or a cake leveler.

jenbenjr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenbenjr Posted 2 May 2007 , 1:26am
post #3 of 19

What I do is as soon as I take it out of the oven I press the cake down with a clean tea towel. This will make the hump disapear and then when I decorate, I always decorate the bottom of the cake because it has a perfectly smooth surface!

lilscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilscakes Posted 2 May 2007 , 1:26am
post #4 of 19

I use the baking strips (Wilton's) and a rose nail as already mentionned. I know a lot of people are not a fan of the cake strips, but I swear by them. They work every time, without fail. Just make sure they are well saturated before you apply. I even made a cake last year for a friend's granddaughter's bd while I was camping in my trailer in the middle of nowhere. I didn't have my bake strips, so I used a very wet tea towel in place and popped it in my small RV trailer oven. The cake turned out beautifully. I've found through the years, many times it's a case of trial and error. What works well for one may not for another. Hope this works for you . Good Luck!

markbolin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
markbolin Posted 2 May 2007 , 1:26am
post #5 of 19

What does the flower nail do for baking a cake?

itsloops Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsloops Posted 2 May 2007 , 1:31am