Request For A Golf Cake!!!

Decorating By chel Updated 10 May 2005 , 2:49am by littlebubbieschocolates

chel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chel Posted 4 May 2005 , 8:01pm
post #1 of 9

I am a newbie and I have no idea where to begin. I have a request for a golf cake in 2 weeks. I have seen a few in the Gallery, but nothing has really caught my eye...any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks. icon_smile.gif

8 replies
charman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
charman Posted 4 May 2005 , 8:20pm
post #2 of 9

I have to do one too as a groom's cake...I am planning on making just a round cake for the base, and then use the Wilton Ball pan to make the golf ball...set it up on top of the round, maybe pipe grass around the base of it, and fashion a club out of fondant to prop again it. Does that give you a visual...I can see it in my head, but not sure how it will turn out.
Good luck. icon_smile.gif

chel Posted 4 May 2005 , 8:50pm
post #3 of 9

I just thought about using a sports ball, but I like the idea of the cake with the grass, I think I will go for that. I wish I could try the fondant thing..but I have not work with fondant much and scared I may mess it all up.....Thanks ...great idea icon_biggrin.gif

cindycakes2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindycakes2 Posted 4 May 2005 , 8:59pm
post #4 of 9

Go to www.cakesbysam.com, click cake galleries, then grooms cakes. There are 2 great pics of golf bag cakes to look at. I actually made one based on the "standing up" golf bag in her lower right corner for my son's grooms cake, using his favorite college team as the decor for the golf bag. I star tipped a lot of it, didn't use fondant, used toy golf clubs and real gof balls and tees. Used 10" rounds, 5 or 6 of them. Good Luck!

Elvira_one Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elvira_one Posted 5 May 2005 , 4:09pm
post #5 of 9

I have an idea but it may seem a little out there. So please bear with me. icon_surprised.gif