Luster Dust

Decorating By tcturtleshell Updated 5 May 2005 , 6:44pm by veejaytx

tcturtleshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcturtleshell Posted 4 May 2005 , 7:19am
post #1 of 14

I am interested in trying luster dust. Does anyone know how it's used & if so do you have an tips or advice to share? Thanks so much~ icon_smile.gif

13 replies
tanyascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tanyascakes Posted 4 May 2005 , 10:52am
post #2 of 14

Hi, Tina. I am new to LD myself. I finally got some last week from sugarcraft. I was told you can use it dry or mix with a clear alcohol to make a paste. I tried both and I am sure I must have messed something up. When I used it dry, there wasn't much effect. I would have used more but I tried 3 "coats" of it and it barely showed-on MMF. When I mixed with alcohol-I used a bit too much I think-it turned kind of pink looking. I was using the Old Gold LD. So I painted it on anyway. When it was drying, I was crying icon_cry.gif thinking that I am going to ruin my hubby's cake! But when he got home, it had dried a bit more and he said that he liked it. He thought there was an antique look to it. I did look more it's normal color once it dried some more. So I will have to take a pic and post it for you all to see when it is done. I am sure that all the mishaps I incurred were through my own lack of know how on how to use this stuff. Hopefully someone can give you some tips that will help us both out. Good luck!
Tanya

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 4 May 2005 , 2:42pm
post #3 of 14

I've used them too. I painted it dry on fondant while the fondant was still moist and I've used it dry on room temp chocolate. It worked really well. I've never used it on MMF and I noticed it doesn't stick well (when used dry) to fondant that's dried or chocolate that's cold. There are a lot of uses for the dusts...you can even airbrush with them.

http://www.sugarcraft.com/catalog/coloring/dustinfo.htm