Fondant Vs. Buttercream

Decorating By MandMCakeDesigns Updated 22 Apr 2007 , 10:00pm by indydebi

MandMCakeDesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MandMCakeDesigns Posted 22 Apr 2007 , 3:46am
post #1 of 10

Just from looking at member names alone, I know there are strong feelings on this topic, but I need to know if I am crazy or not. I have been decorating cakes for others for about 5 months now and I really like working with fondant. I know some people don't like the texture, but I think the MMF tastes pretty good.

I think I am BC challenged...every cake I make with BC frosting just looks ridiculous. I just can't get it where it doesn't crack and look bumpy. As a result, I am much more confidant about my fondant cakes, even though I know they are not perfect either.

So here's my question...is it silly to just want to make fondant cakes? If so, where can I seek Buttercream remediation? icon_razz.gif

9 replies
mizshelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mizshelli Posted 22 Apr 2007 , 3:47am
post #2 of 10

Somewhere on this site there has to be a Buttercream Bhudda.........

icon_biggrin.gif

kidsnurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kidsnurse Posted 22 Apr 2007 , 3:57am
post #3 of 10

MandMCakeDesigns, have you tried the Melvira method?? I haven't yet, but I hear its the bomb!!

rachelruth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rachelruth Posted 22 Apr 2007 , 4:00am
post #4 of 10