How Do I Bake Cake Layers???

Decorating By isacrowe Updated 26 Apr 2006 , 4:59pm by isacrowe

isacrowe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
isacrowe Posted 26 Apr 2006 , 3:10pm
post #1 of 10

Hi - this is probably a stupid question, but I'm quite new at decorating and baking cakes. I have to make a wedding cake and I'm just wondering for the larger tiers, do I bake the layers separately or do I slice the layers after it's baked??? I'm wondering about baking evenly and I'm wondering, if I have to bake the layers separately, about leveling??? Could someone please help?!!

9 replies
candyladyhelen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
candyladyhelen Posted 26 Apr 2006 , 3:20pm
post #2 of 10

Sure! Here is what I do. I no longer split larger layers. I bake 2 layers, then fill them. Much easier. I bake at 325 degrees. This temp. prevents the humps in cakes. Immediately after the cake comes out of the oven, I place on a cooling rack, place a large terry towel on top & begin to press all over the top. This works really well to level the cake. When cool & you remove them from the pan, I place the bottom layer on my cake plate. I put the other layer in the freezer, as it will be easier to handle when putting on top of the bottom layer. When I am ready to decorate, I put my icing into a decorating bag, & pipe the filling onto the bottom layer. This makes it even all over. Then smooth. Take the frozen cake, place on top, then let it defrost completely b/4 you continue frosting. Hope this helps you! Helen

isacrowe Posted 26 Apr 2006 , 3:25pm
post #3 of 10

Oh, that's a great help. I'm just wondering with this method if you use a heating core (i think that's what it's called!!!)???

BayouGatorFan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BayouGatorFan Posted 26 Apr 2006 , 3:28pm
post #4 of 10

I think I understand what you are asking so here goes: