Painting On Cookies? Need Tips

Baking By HammIamm Updated 22 Apr 2007 , 6:52pm by brilandken

HammIamm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HammIamm Posted 15 Apr 2007 , 10:28pm
post #1 of 12

I've read about this before, and i really hate having 3 different bowls of RI of the same colour all different consistancies....
how would do i paint on the cookies, just RI and a paint brush?? what is the consistancy??? i find my thinned RI always like to leak of the sides even when I damm it.

tips would be great!!!
thanks

11 replies
rhondab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rhondab Posted 16 Apr 2007 , 1:43am
post #2 of 12

I'm still new at this, but am learning there are all sorts of options. You can paint BEFORE BAKING with either egg yoke mixed with food coloring or some of the same cookie dough thinned and tinted. AFTER baking you can paint directly on the cookie with the food coloring, or paint on top of most any icing -royal, fondant, or whatever.

MystiqueFire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MystiqueFire Posted 16 Apr 2007 , 2:59am
post #3 of 12

Painting is my medium of choice, because I too get fed up with having 300 bowls of icing out!! Another option that I find the best is coating cookies in white icing so they're completely covered and then painting with powdered food coloring. It's a lot like watercolors, and you can change the hue of the colors a lot easier than regular RI.

Not to mention it's cheaper, as you wont have to spend so much on ingredients and blow through them.

Just make sure you have a nylon brush set...

Jasmine.

partyhelper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
partyhelper Posted 17 Apr 2007 , 6:25am
post #4 of 12