Teacher Needs Reassurance!! (Long)

Lounge By CreativeCakery Updated 13 Apr 2007 , 6:37am by LaSombra

CreativeCakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CreativeCakery Posted 12 Apr 2007 , 4:43am
post #1 of 14

Well, CC family, I am writing in need of a pep talk!!

I graduated with a BS in Education in 2001 (elementary), and due to inexperience and being overly-eager and naive, I got a job in a sorely mismanaged district where I ended up with a "building sub" assignment. Mind you this was a school where I had kids throwing desks, spitting, etc., and I even got bitten once! My car was also broken into while parked at the school. The next year, being "wiser", I took a job in a district I liked, but the only job available was one on a "temporary certificate", which was totally out of my specialization and comfort zone. Even if I WOULD have wanted to continue, shifting enrollment meant no job for me. Meanwhile, I have my daughter. Still looking for a job, I interview like crazy, and to my horror, cannot find a job. So to close up the sob story, I have been a SAHM for the last few years, doing cakes, and eventually, going back to school to earn my MA, which I will have June 10!! (Whew!) Here are my worries:
1. I know that I didn't get at least 2 of those jobs b/c I didn't have a master's degree at the time. In Ohio, education programs were transitioned (after me!) to be master's only programs. No one is going to hire me if they have to pay for my master's when there are plenty of candidates who already had them. At least that's what I'm telling myself!! icon_redface.gif
2. As you all know, it's WHO you know, and unfortunately, I have no one on the "inside" who can pull for me. I am hoping that the faculty at Ohio State U. (where I go), will be able to assist in that department.
3. I am TERRIFIED that I will have done all this, (not to mention adding tons to my student loans) and will STILL not be able to find a job, and even worse, will not be able to find a GOOD job.