Freezing Cakes

Decorating By ntertayneme Updated 23 Apr 2005 , 3:36am by ntertayneme

ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 22 Apr 2005 , 10:11pm
post #1 of 7

Ok... I keep seeing everyone saying they freeze their cakes.... I've never done this before, so any tips on HOW it's done, I would greatly appreciate!! Do you wrap them in something like foil, or what? Do you crumb coat them first or just freeze them w/o frosting? Does this dry them out or do they stay moist? I know some of these questions may sound stupid, but I just wanted to know how some of you do yours.

Thanks!

6 replies
CIndymm4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CIndymm4 Posted 22 Apr 2005 , 10:26pm
post #2 of 7

I just recently froze my first cakes ....baked them, let them cool and then wrapped them in plastic wrap and then in freezer paper......I should have crumb coated them first I think because the crumbs were much worse after freezing than when I ice them right away.....next time I am going to try doing a crumb coat before I freeze them and see if that helps......they tasted great though.....were just as moist as if I had made them that day. Hopefully you'll get some responses from some who are pros at this though....I've just done it once so far.

m0use Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m0use Posted 22 Apr 2005 , 10:44pm
post #3 of 7

I freeze cakes all the time!
To freeze
1) Bake cakes and allow to cool completely.
2) Wrap cooled cakes in saran wrap or glad press 'n seal.
3) Wrap cake in reynold's freezer paper, just like wrapping a present.
4) Mark on the package what the cake is and the freezing date.

To defrost
1) Remove wrapped packages and place on countertop to defrost. Do this 45 minutes to an hour before you start to decorate. This is a good time to cover your cake boards, maybe make your icing if you have not done so already. Or even get your colors ready.