Exciting News For Georgia Bakers!!!!

Business By dolcesunshine20 Updated 15 May 2009 , 5:15pm by Kavingate

dolcesunshine20 Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 2:03pm
post #1 of 78

For all you fellow Georgians out there, I have some exciting news for you! There is a bill going through the legislation right now that would allow people to bake out of their homes as long as they don't exceed an income of $2000 annually! I was excited to find this out! It would be perfect for building your business legally without having to have inspections and a liscense. You can read about it here: http://www.ajc.com/news/content/metro/atlanta/stories/0329legpies.html

77 replies
my3bibs Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 2:09pm
post #2 of 78

I was so excited to hear about this!!!! thumbs_up.gif
I had been so nervous to try and put myself out there......

Now we can offer our quality goodies and not be afraid!! LOL

Genna Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 2:30pm
post #3 of 78

That looks like to me it reads IF you exceed $2000 annually. If she's selling $100 worth of pies a week then she'd certainly be exceeding that amount. That would be wonderful!!! I wonder how long this will take....

Genna Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 2:33pm
post #4 of 78

whoops...sorry!

cashley Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 2:41pm
post #5 of 78

The article said if you sell more than $2000 you would not have to be licensed as you do now. If you sell less than $2000 you do not need a license.

Genna Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 2:43pm
post #6 of 78

I just cannot get over how wonderful this is!!!

Pyxxydust Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 2:46pm
post #7 of 78

This is so fab! I work full time so I do cake decorating on weekends as a hobby but do sell some - so I certainly would not be going over the $2,000 annually - nor could I afford to build a whole new kitchen like they require that you do now. So this is FABULOUS news! Yay! I hope it gets approved and will be put in place soon! Thanks for updating us! I've been working a lot of extra hours and haven't watched the news in a couple weeks - so I'm clueless as to what's going on.

Thanks!

Melissa

dolcesunshine20 Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 3:50pm
post #8 of 78

Ahh, yes, thank you for the clarification on the $2000 limit thing. My sister-in-law is working as a secretary for the house majority leader I think, so she told me about this weeks ago. When she first heard about it, there was some kind of limit, so i guess I just got my stories mixed up. Now that it's making it into the papers, I'm hoping that this will actually become a reality for us Georgia decorators!!!

m0use Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 9:07pm
post #9 of 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genna

whoops...sorry!



I deleted the duplicate posts Genna thumbs_up.gif

deijha Posted 29 Mar 2006 , 10:35pm
post #10 of 78

I'm not in Georgia, but if they do it maybe the concept will spread around the country and little oh Ohio will do something like that to. I hope its a BIG success there.

yaya66ga Posted 30 Mar 2006 , 2:44am
post #11 of 78

Thank You so much for sharing this info with us. It's great News... thumbs_up.gif

Muse Posted 30 Mar 2006 , 1:26pm
post #12 of 78

I am so completely thrilled about this! Does this mean that we can also advertise too? Or is that still a no-go?

Cheers,
Darci

lcdmarie Posted 30 Mar 2006 , 9:55pm
post #13 of 78

wow this is great.
we have to find out more about this.
marie

tinascakes Posted 30 Mar 2006 , 10:03pm
post #14 of 78

Wow, that's great. I wish they would do that in New York. My Wilton instructor told me that I could sell out of my home without a license if the cake doesn't cost the customer $500.00 or more, but I don't think she is right.

dolcesunshine20 Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 1:23pm
post #15 of 78

Okay ya'll update here!!!! Yesterday was the final day of the legislative session in GA. And....as far as I can tell with my limited knowledge of political jargon it passed! Check me out and make sure I'm right.
http://www.legis.state.ga.us/legis/2005_06/sum/hb1380.htm

Pyxxydust Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 2:47pm
post #16 of 78

Oh my gosh - I looked at your link and I was completely confused. I have no idea. Is anyone else able to tell if it passed and when it will take effect? I'm probably missing something really obvious. Thanks!

Melissa

lcdmarie Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 4:32pm
post #17 of 78

WOW I am with you pyxxydust.
If it did pass
What does it mean exactly?
Do you still have to have a seperate kitchen?
Does the kitchen still have to be inpected?
Can we make our cakes (or goodies) and take them some where else to sell?
(like flea markets.....)
I am so confused icon_wink.gif
marie

Pyxxydust Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 4:37pm
post #18 of 78

I think what it means is that we don't need a health license at all so we can sell wherever we want, as long as we don't earn over $2,000 a year. We'd probably still need a business license and report income, etc, to make sure we don't go over that $2,000 limit. But we wouldn't need the separate kitchen or any of that! Whoopee! But I can't tell if it passed or not already - but if it did - then we should be able to advertise, print up business cards, and everything - at least I think. Hopefully some more info will be coming out about it soon. I need them to "dumb it down" so I can understand all their legal speak!

Kandee Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 4:48pm
post #19 of 78

Please scroll down to "New Info for Georgia Home Bakers". There is additonal information posted.

lcdmarie Posted 1 Apr 2006 , 1:56am
post #20 of 78

Thanks icon_biggrin.gif

Genna Posted 3 Apr 2006 , 10:43am
post #21 of 78

Ok, just read it: As long as you don't make over $5,000 a year then you can sell a home product labeled and advertised as "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection". I'm personally buying a stamp that says this quote to stamp all of my cake boxes. I'm also checking into if I need a county license/how to pay taxes so I'll be completely legal. This feels so good to be legal now!!!

tabs8774 Posted 3 Apr 2006 , 11:09am
post #22 of 78

i live about 35-40 miles from the state line and i am soooo happy for all of you georgians!! i hope and pray that my sc law makers will wise up and follow your law makers!! maybe i'll just move !! hahaha good luck y'all!!!

_ChristyB_ Posted 3 Apr 2006 , 11:34am
post #23 of 78

My cakes are "by order only," and when it is done that way, no labeling is needed. This pie lady makes hers ahead of time and then sells them to, whereas I think most cake decorators make the cakes by order - correct? And if so, it says that
"The Provisions of code section 26-2-25 shall not apply to any:

1) Person not regularly engaged in the business of manufacturing and selling food and who prepares food only on order of and for sell directly to the unlitmate customer."

I personally am in the process of getting my kitchen customized to be able to be licensed. My inspector told me that if mine is by order only - no label needed. So, I don't think the $5000 limit applies to us unless we are baking them and then carrying them to sell to unknown customers.

I hope this makes sense and please, by no means, am I a person that knows legal things, but that was my understanding. If someone else has more knowledge on this, please straighten me out!!! icon_surprised.gif)

lcdmarie Posted 3 Apr 2006 , 12:09pm
post #24 of 78

ChristyB,

Thank You

What all are you doing to convert your kitchen to get it licensed?

_ChristyB_ Posted 3 Apr 2006 , 12:16pm
post #25 of 78

I already ha a separate kitchen from my home, so I am working on the following:

tile or vinyl flooring
covering the walls with something that can be wiped down
3-compartment sink

those are the 3 things that are left and the most expensive...so, one thing at a time!!! heehee!

dolcesunshine20 Posted 3 Apr 2006 , 5:14pm
post #26 of 78

Okay everyone, I just got an email from my sister-in-law who has been working down at the capitol this legislative session, and she gave me the final scoop on this bill that was just passed.

1.) You may sell up to $5,000 worth of food anually.
2.) Must sell on order by and directly to the customer.
3.) Must post a sign or label the product that reads "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."
4.) Your name and address must be printed on the label. What I have are business cards with my name and address on them that I secure to all of my cake boxes.

She said that word of mouth will still probably be the best way to advertise. If you felt like you would like to try to advertise otherwise, clearly state that the products are homemade and not inspected. From what I understand, a business license is not necessary. In Cobb county, the business lisence has rules about zoning. I couldn't have people come to my home for tastings and such.

Well, I hope this helps everyone! I'm so excited about this!!

Pyxxydust Posted 3 Apr 2006 , 5:16pm
post #27 of 78

Thank you for the great info! Do you know if this is in effect right now or is there a certain date that it will be effective by?

Oh - and thank your sister for us as well!

Melissa

dolcesunshine20 Posted 4 Apr 2006 , 12:57am
post #28 of 78

Okay, the way this works is, the governor of GA has up until 40 days after the end of the legislative session (May 9th) to sign all the bills into law that have been passed. So, basically, it's just whenever he gets around to doing it.=) Hmmm, let's see, two of my sisters babysit for his daughter, so maybe I could ask them to ask her to ask him....LOL!!! No, really they do babysit for his grandkids. If ya'll think of anything else, let me know and I'll see what I can find out.

Ironbaker Posted 4 Apr 2006 , 1:02am
post #29 of 78

Oh wow, I had no idea!! Thanks for posting this, it's awesome news! thumbs_up.gif

mjcarter2 Posted 4 Apr 2006 , 1:10am
post #30 of 78

Dolcesunshine20,

Thanks for sharing this information. I was disheartened when I heard about the "Pie Lady" in Powder Springs, but happy when the article included the tidbit about the new bill. Thanks again for your knowledge and insight. thumbs_up.gif

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%