Question About Wilton's Tall Tier Cake Stand

Decorating By AgentCakeBaker Updated 19 Apr 2005 , 8:18pm by AgentCakeBaker

AgentCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AgentCakeBaker Posted 19 Apr 2005 , 7:07pm
post #1 of 4

If anyone has used this stand before, can you please help me. My first wedding cake order is due Sunday and my client wants to use the tall tier cake stand. I've never used it before obviously if this is my very first wedding cake.

Anyway, she only has three tiers in sizes 6, 8, and 10 inches. I only need to use the three smaller plates of the cake stand but I noticed that only the largest plate has legs. What should I do? Should I use the bottom plate (18") and put some garland around it to take away from the extra space between the cake and the end of the plate?

Need some help. Getting a little nervous. I've attached a link so you could see what I'm talking about.

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=3E30BB93-475A-BAC0-52555DC793C1FEC1&fid=3E33109F-475A-BAC0-514197B5E889D67F

3 replies
msmeg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msmeg Posted 19 Apr 2005 , 7:19pm
post #2 of 4

The legs do not actually come on the bottom plate you need to glue them on. The only time I used this stand we used the additional bottom thing that makes the satalite cakes so I did not glue the legs on the bottom plate.

You could get an extra 12 inch plate and glue legs on it and charge her for the plate and replacement legs

Or you could set the plate on voltive cups turned upside down. It will have to set on something as there is a nut that holds it together

don't forget to plan ahead the plates do not sit flat so you need a hole cut in foam to transport.

m0use Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m0use Posted 19 Apr 2005 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 4

I have used this stand before because I actually own it. Now the one I bought had the legs already glued on the largest plate.