When To Start?

Decorating By dlemoine Updated 29 Mar 2007 , 9:55pm by TrinaH

dlemoine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dlemoine Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 5:51am
post #1 of 6

Hi there...

I'm relatively new to cake decorating (just finished course 2!) and have so far only made practice cakes. I'm looking for some very general advice related to when you should start in order to meet a deadline when making a cake for an event.

Obviously, I know the timing all depends on the size and complexity of the cake and individual decorating speed, but I'm just looking for some tips when the cake should be baked and frosted.

Also, how do you transport your cakes to make sure they arrive at their destination still looking pretty?

Thanks!

5 replies
ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 6:06am
post #2 of 6

I'm not working right now, but live with my parents so I work my actual baking schedule around my mom's work schedule. For example, I have a baby shower cake for Saturday. The latest I like to bake cakes is on Wednesday - that why I have some rest time in between the baking and decorating.

As for decorating, I'm a night owl. So, once again, for example, Saturday's cake I'll probably start at 8pm on Friday - maybe even 9. And I'll start them late because I know I'm not doing anything afterwards because I'll be too tired.

I still haven't conquered transporting, but it's helped me to have an at least 2-inch margin between the cake and the edge of the board. This helps make sure nothing messes up the sides.

Wiltonlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wiltonlady Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 6:34am
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccr03

I'm not working right now, but live with my parents so I work my actual baking schedule around my mom's work schedule. For example, I have a baby shower cake for Saturday. The latest I like to bake cakes is on Wednesday - that why I have some rest time in between the baking and decorating.