Please Clarify- Hi Ratio?

Decorating By AmberCakes Updated 10 Apr 2006 , 6:57pm by kisha311

AmberCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmberCakes Posted 14 Mar 2006 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 10

Hello to all and thanks for viewing this post!

I see alot of bakers say Hi ratio alot and I don't understand it so much. Can someone please clarify Hi Ratio for me? Please. I get mixed up with reading different posts about it and get confused. I know, I'm a newbie to cake decorating and am learning alot here. Geesh, I even have a binder just for cake stuff. I love this site!
TIA! thumbs_up.gif

9 replies
Divi-Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Divi-Cakes Posted 14 Mar 2006 , 7:18pm
post #2 of 10

Hi icon_smile.gif

Hi-ratio is shortening, which contains emulsifiers,
is more temperature stable and will hold air better
upon whipping, improving volume and stability
of icing thumbs_up.gif

Have a nice day! icon_smile.gif

justsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justsweet Posted 14 Mar 2006 , 7:24pm
post #3 of 10

this is from the baking911 website.

EMULSIFIED SHORTENING: also known as cake, icing or high ratio shortening, can absorb more sugar and liquid than regular shortening. It gives a finer and smoother texture to cakes and help keep them moist, as well as keeps icings more stable. However, it should be used in icings and cakes where the recipe contains a large percentage of sugar.

I buy the 50lbs from SYSCO for $29 (CALIF), their are lots of brands

Here is some other names hi ratio goes by plus two websites, you can see if they have a cash and carry store.

http://www.sysco.com/aboutus/contactus.asp
item number 4003869 shortening cake cube all vegetable
(50lbs for $29, local store in Hayward (510) 481-1515, called cake shortening)

http://www.foodservicedirect.com/index.cfm/S/13/CLID/146/N/4471/Hunt_Wesson_-_Wesson_Shortening.ht (50lbs super quick blend 50lbs $56.45)