Very Discouraged. No One To Bake Cakes For

Business By Susecita Updated 15 Mar 2006 , 8:15pm by ConnieB

Susecita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Susecita Posted 11 Mar 2006 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 27

Im a grad student in Madison, WI and have been yearning so badly to get some practice for cakes. i want my cakes to be showcased and I want to be challenged to try great new things. The problem: No people. Because of the size of my school and the fact that students well rarely have children with birthday cakes, weddings to plan, etc., I find myself baking for my boyfriends lab (all men...this will never translate into a request for help) and my classes that are very very small (8-10 people). I have told everyone and anyone that I want practice and want to bake cakes, cupcakes, birthdays, weddings, anything for free and only for the cost of the ingredients. I am very discouraged at this point and have no idea what to do. A couple of weeks ago I got a wonderful opportunity through a wonderful wonderful woman on this site but that fell through. Now Im back to square one icon_surprised.gif(. Thoughts? ideas? suggestions? I am looking for a job at a market bakery or something to gain speed, etc. but wanted the artistic challenges that come from individual requests. Help me get started icon_surprised.gif)

Thanks!

Sus

26 replies
HollyPJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HollyPJ Posted 11 Mar 2006 , 9:26pm
post #2 of 27

Check with your local United Way and see if there are any charity groups who need cakes.
Places likes group homes, rest homes, and children's organizations might need help with birthday cakes and other celebration cakes.
Since you'd be doing it on a volunteer basis, you could most likely choose your designs and practice what you'd like.
And you'd know all your hard work was for a good cause!

tastycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tastycakes Posted 11 Mar 2006 , 9:27pm
post #3 of 27