Transfer Photo To Cake

Decorating By Samsgranny Updated 1 Mar 2006 , 8:14pm by nanni

Samsgranny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Samsgranny Posted 28 Feb 2006 , 9:04pm
post #1 of 9

Hi there,
New to this site and I am amazed at wealth of information I have found here. I am new to cake decorating...just starting class 3 of Wilton's at my local Michael's.

My question. I would like to do a Jimmy Neutron cake for my son's birthday but have not found a cake pan. I did find some figures to put on a cake but they don't look very exciting to me. However, I was wondering if there was a way to copy a photo of Jimmy and transfer that to the top of a sheet cake. I also sew and I know that you can copy photos onto fabric and was curious if there is a way to print out the photo onto parchment paper or even something edible. Your help would be appreciated.

Thanks so much!
Samsgranny

8 replies
maxiecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maxiecakes Posted 1 Mar 2006 , 1:32am
post #2 of 9

Hi Samsgranny, Well you can't just print and copy onto your cake,You need a designated printer used for cakes only, cannon, then you need Edible Ink cartridge. You can get everything you need from
www.kopykake.com I sure hope this helps. I have a little trouble explaining things but at kopykake they have printers, inks, and frosting sheets.

tastycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tastycakes Posted 1 Mar 2006 , 1:37am
post #3 of 9

You can always do a piping gel transfer of the outlines and then color in with colored piping gel. Just trace the image in black gel onto a piece of waxed or parchment paper, turn it over onto your iced cake making sure all of your lines are touching the icing. Gently lift off paper and you'll have the outline of what you'd like to color in! Keep in mind to reverse you image if it has words, or these will come out backwards! Then re-pipe your outlines and fill in with colored piping gel? Does this make sense?