Beginner Please Help!

Decorating By butterflykissez Updated 27 Feb 2006 , 1:59am by butterflykissez

butterflykissez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterflykissez Posted 21 Feb 2006 , 5:41am
post #1 of 17

Hello, I just starting designing cakes so I am very new to this. I am making the (wilton) elmo cake for my brother's birthday and need a little guidance with the food coloring and icing.

What icing do you recommend? How do I "properly" dye the icing and can you explain the "toothpick method" to me.

Thank you so much for reading this post icon_smile.gif

16 replies
redred Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redred Posted 21 Feb 2006 , 8:53am
post #2 of 17

Welcome to Cake Central butterflykissez. I am new to the boards too and find the advice and support here is invaluable.

I recommend paste/gel colours. Wilton make them, and many swear by Americolor although I haven't tried them. Sugarflair (British brand) is good too. Paste colours are very vivid and won't change the consistency of the icing. Simply add a bit of the paste to the finished icing and stir till it is evenly blended. The 'toothpick' method refers to the fact that the icing is very concentrated so add only a bit at a time, using a toothpick, until you can see how intensely the colour is developing.

veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 21 Feb 2006 , 9:37am
post #3 of 17

Hi, welcome to both of you, hope you have a great time on CC.

redred, is that kitten in your avatar yours? It is so precious! It looks like my 15 year old Rupert must have looked when he was a baby (He was at least a year old when my daughter brought him home with her, and then left him with me later on.)

I definitely prefer the Americolors (gel paste), their colors are very rich and deep. Americolor comes in a flip-top bottle, so it is easy to apply to your icing. I've used some Wilton and some powdered colors, but the gelpaste seems to work best.

Once again, welcome to CC. Janice