Can You Freeze Buttercream Roses?

Decorating By mookie123 Updated 14 Apr 2015 , 12:09am by kjshew

mookie123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mookie123 Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 9:47pm
post #1 of 19

I'm new to all this, and I must say I'm loveing it! I'm getting a few orders, but I still work pretty slowly. Can I make buttercream roses ahead of time and freeze them? I was told I could air dry them like royal icing, but they looked not so pretty in a short amount of time.
Thanks!

18 replies
Wiltonlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wiltonlady Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 9:54pm
post #2 of 19

Yes you can. I have frozen them up to a week and then let them defrost at room temperature.

butternut Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butternut Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 9:59pm
post #3 of 19

I always make my buttercream flowers ahead of time and freeze them. Just a word of warning. When you decorate the cake, you have to place the frozen flowers on VERY quickly. They start to thaw immediately. I usually just grab a couple of flowers from the freezer and then go back for more. Otherwise, they will thaw out before you can finish decorating and it will be very difficult to place on the cake.

hamie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hamie Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 9:59pm
post #4 of 19

The roses are much easier to move to the cake if they are frozen. If I have time, I always freeze mine. That way I can move them around on the cake if I need to.

MissT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissT Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 9:59pm
post #5 of 19

mookie - can you explain how you mean that they look "not so pretty in a short amount of time"? I have had problems in the past where the color got spotty, but since switching to Americolor that has not happened and if I pack them in an airtight container they look fine for a long time.

Just wondering. icon_smile.gif

sdanczak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sdanczak Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 10:49pm
post #6 of 19