How To Pipe Borders On Cakes.. Besides The Shell Border...

Decorating By briansbaker Updated 4 May 2006 , 4:30pm by Katskakes

briansbaker Posted 8 Feb 2006 , 10:52pm
post #1 of 20

I have only one kind of border down for my cakes.. and that is the shell border.. It's getting pretty darn boring.. I am a self taught person.. SO if anyone has directions PLEASE send them my way... I really want to learn this:

19 replies
Euphoriabakery Posted 8 Feb 2006 , 10:56pm
post #2 of 20

The border used on the top edge of this cake is a reverse shell border. It is done with the same tip used for a shell border. Instead of piping a small hump and pulling straight start just like you would for a shell and come over the top to the left and down like you would end a shell. then on the next shell do the oposite come over the top to the right.
Does this make sense? It's kind of like a little C motion and then pull down.

JennT Posted 8 Feb 2006 , 11:05pm
post #3 of 20

The reverse shell is a very easy border...once you get the hang of it. I practiced it over & over on some wax paper until I got I've even done it with the plain round tips...looks great. Sometimes I trace over it with a tip 2 in a coordinating color, or do another one on top of it but with a smaller version of the same kind of tip...or add dots to the center of the little swirl part of it.

TexasSugar Posted 9 Feb 2006 , 12:14am
post #4 of 20

You can do the shell montion with different tips ,to vary the look of it. If you use a round tip it will give you what htey call the bead boarder. I've also seen the leaf tip used with the shell motion.

If you have a Wilton Yearbook, look in the center section and you will see some directions for different boarders as well. icon_smile.gif

angelas2babies Posted 9 Feb 2006 , 12:28am
post #5 of 20

You can try a bead border. They look very clean and contemporary. I've seen alot of cakes with them, and there are directions in the Wilton book as well.