I Present To You....my Nightmare!

Decorating By rhondie Updated 19 Mar 2007 , 1:29pm by rhondie

rhondie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rhondie Posted 11 Mar 2007 , 5:07am
post #1 of 29

I said that I would post a picture of this cake in one of my other posts but I have too much to say about this cake from the dark side. Thanks to everyone who helped me through the color crisis and other various questions that I asked.
1. The groom whom was an artist designed this cake and his wife made the topper. I'm NOT an artist but will try to copy his design in frosting

2. The base color of the frosting was supposed to be more of a grayish blue not aqua.

3. The dark blue royal decorations took forever to make and days to dry

4. they were even harder to attach to the cake

5. On the drive the bottom layer started shifting giving me a mild heart attack. a lot of the royal decorations broke and fell off!

6. upon arrival my bottom layer looks awful and there are about 5 strangers watching me try to repair it.

7. Once I realized that there was nothing more that I could do I started to assemble it...didn't line up the Wilton globes correctly

8. One of the globes needs to be pushed further down to cover the exposed pillar

9. The middle tier has the back side of the cake showing......you can see in the picture that the leaves are way too close together. ( the other side was more evenly spaced)

So I feel like a failure. The bride and groom were not there yet to give me there feedback and frankly I'm scared to hear from them. I was paid 125.00 to do this cake and even though that's beans for $ I still fell like I do not deserve to cash the check. What should I do?

Crap, crap....I cannot even figure out how to upload the picture!!!!!!!! Too many pixels? Please look in my pictures....I'll try to upload a close picture of the damaged side

28 replies
jsmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jsmith Posted 11 Mar 2007 , 5:18am
post #2 of 29