Help!!! (Baby Shower Cake)

Decorating By xcandyxkissx Updated 3 Feb 2006 , 6:55am by tastycakes

xcandyxkissx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xcandyxkissx Posted 1 Feb 2006 , 8:12am
post #1 of 8

I've been a member here for awhile, but this is my first time posting. So, HI!

My aunt and I are throwing my cousin a baby shower. I've been put in charge of the cake. My aunt wants a 2-3 tiered cake, but I'm not sure where to go from there.

First off, I've never used fondant and not very many people like it.

Second, the only icing that I really trust is Whip'N Top.

What kind of things can I do with a 2-3 tiered cake?

7 replies
mvucic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mvucic Posted 1 Feb 2006 , 9:12am
post #2 of 8

I like the tiered baby shower cake featured in the newest Wilton Yearbook (2006). I'm not sure what page it's on, but it has cute little buttons as the border and a clothesline with baby items hanging to decorate the sides. You could definitely make it into a 3 tier cake. And an added bonus, the fondant decorations can be made ahead. icon_smile.gif

Here's some! The first cake is really unique!

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=coppermine&file=thumbnails&meta=search&type=full&search=baby+button

Post a pic when you're done icon_smile.gif

HTH!
Mirjana

lotsoftots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lotsoftots Posted 1 Feb 2006 , 1:40pm
post #3 of 8

I'd do a search in the gallery--it's filled with wonderful cakes to inspire you! Also you can check the Wilton website under their recipe and project section.

momsandraven Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momsandraven Posted 1 Feb 2006 , 8:44pm
post #4 of 8

I've done a couple of baby shower cakes where the top tier is a bassinet, using the smallest oval pan and part of half of a 3D egg pan. Both times, the Moms-to-be have saved the top tier for celebration when the baby is born. Look in my pics if you want to see what I mean.