I Need A Little Wedding Cake Help...fondant Or Icing?

Decorating By Lovabledes Updated 20 Jan 2006 , 6:02pm by Lovabledes

Lovabledes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lovabledes Posted 19 Jan 2006 , 11:59pm
post #1 of 9

I have a question??? I am taking Wilton cake class Course3, Well lastnight I had to do a cake with Fondant, and in 2 weeks I have to do a wedding cake, well I can either do the one in course 3 book or find one to do.......What is easier to do, one with fondant or one with icing......I'm not very good with flowers....What would be easier to do????? I'm thinking of doing the fondant one, but then I'm not sure.....I did buy me a wilton book on wedding cakes, I know my cake could ever look like one of those.... icon_lol.gif

Thanks
Betty icon_smile.gif

8 replies
wendysue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wendysue Posted 20 Jan 2006 , 12:06am
post #2 of 9

How did you do with the fondant? Are you comfortable with it? I'd base my decision on how comfortable I was with the different mediums. Do you know what style of cake you're wanting to do? I'd say fondant is a lot more work. If you're doing a wedding cake for class, I'd not worry too much, just have fun, but if it's for an actual wedding do what is most comfortable. : )

Lovabledes Posted 20 Jan 2006 , 12:24am
post #3 of 9

it is for class....no I'm not ready to do a wedding cake for a real wedding...I be to scared and nervous.....lol......Fondant was fun, but it reminded me of playdough......I'm still trying to decided.....I will post my fondant cake later when I get it on my computer.......

I have a few days to think on what to do.......

thanks
Betty

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 20 Jan 2006 , 12:31am
post #4 of 9

I think fondant is fun to work with too. If you had fun the last time you used it, it might be the way to go. If you have any cutters, making flowers with fondant can be even easier than doing them with buttercream or royal.