Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Buttercream

Decorating By Jackie Updated 26 May 2016 , 8:00pm by gfbaby

goof9j Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
goof9j Posted 8 May 2007 , 9:32pm
post #241 of 707

OMG! What a great idea. As a somewhat newbie, I get so confused. I try to save all the posts that I think will work for me, but to have 1 place for the buttercream icings, would be fantastic. thumbs_up.gif

Renaejrk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renaejrk Posted 10 May 2007 , 2:54am
post #242 of 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishynooshy

Is there a bc, that I can use to make roses but without any shortening. There isnt really any shortening (or great cake decorating materials)that I can get here in Australia unless I take a 2.5 hr ride. (*sigh* the life of a teenage outcast)

It's so hard to practise trying to make the little buggers with an all butter buttercream. (All butter with PS was pretty difficult, I don't know why I thought I could do it with SMBC. LOL)

Have you thought about purchasing hi-ratio shortening online? I'm not sure what shipping would be, but you use less of it than regular shortening anyway, and it will hold up better than butter!

Renaejrk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renaejrk Posted 10 May 2007 , 2:55am
post #243 of 707

by the way - when is this article going to be out?

BarbieCrocker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BarbieCrocker Posted 10 May 2007 , 6:26pm
post #244 of 707

I would love to know how to keep buttercream soft and creamy, not crusty!!! Thanks!

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 10 May 2007 , 6:52pm
post #245 of 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarbieCrocker

I would love to know how to keep buttercream soft and creamy, not crusty!!! Thanks!

I use this one from Baking 911 for my kid cakes and it's really good.. the only think I do different is switch the butter and shortening amounts around.. I like it more buttery.. It doesn't crust.