Ta Dah...my First Fbct

Decorating By occakes Updated 27 Dec 2005 , 5:52am by SarahJane

occakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
occakes Posted 19 Dec 2005 , 4:24pm
post #1 of 18

This is my first attempt at fbct. (Sorry about the lighting. It was much prettier in real life. The light in that room was not so good.) I needed a cake for my daughter's church youth group Christmas party. I was surprised at how long it took me to "color" in the transfer. It turned out ok, I guess, but I have two questions...

1. After I placed the transfer on the cake, there was a lip of icing around the transfer that was a lot higer than the cake. I tried to smooth it the best I could, but it still had a lump all the way around it. Is there a way to avoid this or fix it?

2. How do you smooth the icing as you color the transfer? Some of mine looked like little squiggles of icing in the spaces.
LL

17 replies
LittleBigMomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleBigMomma Posted 19 Dec 2005 , 4:30pm
post #2 of 18

I haven't done a fbct yet. So, I can't answer your questions.

BUT, your cake looks great!

rachaelwelch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rachaelwelch Posted 19 Dec 2005 , 4:30pm
post #3 of 18

Love the cake and transfer, and of course the cake's message as well! thumbs_up.gif Unfortunately I have no experience with FBCT, but I just wanted to say - GREAT JOB! icon_biggrin.gif

bulldog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bulldog Posted 19 Dec 2005 , 4:33pm
post #4 of 18

Good Job. Very cute!! thumbs_up.gif

gmcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gmcakes Posted 19 Dec 2005 , 4:40pm
post #5 of 18

The cake looks great!

I'm not sure what to tell you about the lip of icing around the image. But as for the "squiggles"...after my image has lightly crusted, I gently tap on the icing to press it against the board I am working on, and the front of my images always come out smooth - no squiggles!