I Need Fondant Bow Help Please

Decorating By my2kidsmom Updated 24 Feb 2007 , 11:18pm by fearlessbaker

my2kidsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
my2kidsmom Posted 24 Feb 2007 , 8:44am
post #1 of 7

I'm gonna attempt to make a bow, not the loopy kind, the shoe lace kind, and some accent pieces using the Wilton fondant. I've never worked with fondant before. It will not be ate. The bow will be in the center of the middle of the cake, will this slide down? How thick does the fondant need to be? Also, how does fondant dry? Fast, slow, does it tend to crack? Do I want the bow to be dry/hard? How do I store the finished pieces? Should I wait to attach the bow as late as possible? Would I just attach it with a little water? Any advice, tips, warnings etc. would be greatly appreciated. The cake is due next Sunday, March 4th.

6 replies
boonenati Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
boonenati Posted 24 Feb 2007 , 10:16am
post #2 of 7

Have you had a look at these instructions??
http://www.cakecentral.com/article103-How-To-Make-a-Gumpaste-Bow.html

I have never made anything with the Wilton fondant, i tried it once and tried to make a plaque with it, and it took ages to dry, and didnt taste very good. Never used it again, but lots of ppl say that it is good for making stuff like what you plan.
Maybe someone that uses it often can give you some tips.

anyone???

cheers
Nati

denise4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
denise4 Posted 24 Feb 2007 , 10:54am
post #3 of 7

Is this the sort of bow you mean? I strengthend the fondant with gumpaste, at a 50/50 combination (this was ok because it was'nt eaten) I didd'nt find it dried to quickly whilst working with it as I made sure I kneaded the paste well before, making it more mallable HTH
LL

fearlessbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fearlessbaker Posted 24 Feb 2007 , 5:24pm
post #4 of 7