Apple Pie Experts

Decorating By sofiasmami Updated 21 Nov 2005 , 1:43am by Randa_000

sofiasmami Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sofiasmami Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 8:49pm
post #1 of 18

Hi,
I'm very new to baking .. I'm supposed to bring an apple pie to my daughter's school next week ... I've done pies before but I've always bought the ready made pie crust.... now that I started baking nothing less than home made would be good enough..lol

I have a recipe from better homes and gardens cook book for a double crust apple pie .... do I need to bake the bottom part first before putting in the filling? anything I should know before venturing into this? .... I have so much stuff to make for next week that I can't afford any learning mistakes ... any assistance would be greatly appreciated icon_wink.gif

17 replies
charlieinMO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
charlieinMO Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 8:58pm
post #2 of 18

When I bake apple pies (not often enough occording to my husband lol) I don't bake the bottom first. put it in the dish and then pour your filling on top!! Good luck. I'm sure it will be great!

MelC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MelC Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 9:04pm
post #3 of 18

It's been a while since I baked apple pies, but I never pre-baked the bottom crust. As far as I know, you only need to do that when you are adding a liquidy filling - the bottom crust abosorbs too much liquid before it cooks and comes out soggy if you don't.

Watch what kind of apple you use ... I always used granny smith apples: you want one that will hold it's shape when cooked ... you don't want applesauce pie!

My recipe basically had me fill the crust with apple slices that had been tossed with lemon juice(overfill it... they will cook down a fair bit), then sprinkle a mixture of sugar and corn starch over top, add a few dots of butter and add your top crust (make sure to cut vents)