How Do I Make Halal Fondant?

Baking By PorcelainDollQueen Updated 3 Jun 2013 , 5:26pm by Godot

PorcelainDollQueen Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 4:23pm
post #1 of 32

I need to halal fondant to make my cakes. So, does anyone know how to make fondant that is halal? Or atleast know where to get the halal fondant XD; I am completely clueless!



~>PorcelainDollQueen<~

31 replies
MomLittr Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 4:26pm
post #2 of 32

icon_redface.gif what the heck type of fondant is that? icon_confused.gif

jmt1714 Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 5:47pm
post #3 of 32

halal, if I am not mistaken, is something prepared according to muslim religious requirements (similar to kosher products for jewish folks).

Might want to take the list of ingredients and methods for making to be reviewed by an imam or something.

jmt1714 Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 5:49pm
post #4 of 32

I did a quick google search and came up on some links. Do a search for "halal fondant" and see what you get.

masarost Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 5:54pm
post #5 of 32

I've just been asked to make a Muslim wedding cake for next weekend. Are there any special requirements that you know of and do you have any suggestions for the look of the cake? Do I need to use Halal fondant?

kathik Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 5:57pm
post #6 of 32

PorcelainDollQueen,

I would check with your customer (or your religious leader if this is for you), but my understanding is that most items that are kosher are also Halal. If that is the case you can use any kosher fondant or use marshmallow fluff to make marshmallow fondant. If you are in a large Jewish area you can probably find kosher marshmallows, but often it's difficult to find these.

Good luck,
Kathi

P.S. masarost, your customer should have told you if they required this, but you might want to double check!

RisqueBusiness Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:05pm
post #7 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kathik

PorcelainDollQueen,

I would check with your customer (or your religious leader if this is for you), but my understanding is that most items that are kosher are also Halal. If that is the case you can use any kosher fondant or use marshmallow fluff to make marshmallow fondant. If you are in a large Jewish area you can probably find kosher marshmallows, but often it's difficult to find these.

Good luck,
Kathi

P.S. masarost, your customer should have told you if they required this, but you might want to double check!






marshmellow fondant is not kosher, it's made with gelatin icon_surprised.gif . That's what keeps the marshmellow in shape icon_rolleyes.gif , you really have to check these things in depth as they are for religious and dietary needs!! thumbs_up.gif

duh, what a MAROON!! you did suggest Kosher Marshmellows! icon_rolleyes.gif lol...you can also use agar agar as a kosher thickener, it is made from sea weed and can be found in Asian or health food stores!! thumbs_up.gif

MikeRowesHunny Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:08pm
post #8 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by masarost

I've just been asked to make a Muslim wedding cake for next weekend. Are there any special requirements that you know of and do you have any suggestions for the look of the cake? Do I need to use Halal fondant?




I do know that a big no is anything with alcohol or containing animal fat from the animal's body (so not lard or suet etc, but butter is fine). If your fondant contains gelatine (and lots do), then you can't use it for Muslims - that will include MMF made with marshmallows.

Edited to say: if you can get your hands on non-animal derived glycerine (ask your pharmacist), then you can make your own fondant using a recipe like Debbie Brown's. I can send you the recipe if you'd like.

jen1977 Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:09pm
post #9 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by RisqueBusiness

Quote:
Originally Posted by kathik

PorcelainDollQueen,

I would check with your customer (or your religious leader if this is for you), but my understanding is that most items that are kosher are also Halal. If that is the case you can use any kosher fondant or use marshmallow fluff to make marshmallow fondant. If you are in a large Jewish area you can probably find kosher marshmallows, but often it's difficult to find these.

Good luck,
Kathi

P.S. masarost, your customer should have told you if they required this, but you might want to double check!



That's why she said to use marshmallow fluff icon_wink.gif

That's why she said to use marshmallow fluff icon_wink.gif



marshmellow fondant is not kosher, it's made with gelatin icon_surprised.gif . That's what keeps the marshmellow in shape icon_rolleyes.gif , you really have to check these things in depth as they are for religious and dietary needs!! thumbs_up.gif

duh, what a MAROON!! you did suggest Kosher Marshmellows! icon_rolleyes.gif lol...you can also use agar agar as a kosher thickener, it is made from sea weed and can be found in Asian or health food stores!! thumbs_up.gif


RisqueBusiness Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:10pm
post #10 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kathik

If you are in a large Jewish area you can probably find kosher marshmallows, but often it's difficult to find these.




I should've had my reading glasses on and more coffee so that I would've seen you suggested KOSHER marshmellows!! icon_redface.gif

RisqueBusiness Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:12pm
post #11 of 32

jen1977...

you forgot to add your comments! lol

Lejla Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:18pm
post #12 of 32

Hi;
Halal means no Pork products and no alcohol.What ever you use just make sure you read ingredients and if there is any sort of alcohol or pork(pig) products it a big no no.As for other animal fat it is ok to have it.I have never heard of not eating gelatin unless there is one of those two in it.Good luck.

jen1977 Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:18pm
post #13 of 32

That's why she said to use marshmallow fluff icon_wink.gif



i tried to edit my last post and the words didn't add icon_confused.gif

RisqueBusiness Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:19pm
post #14 of 32

Gelatine is not considered Kosher, it it extracted from the proteins located in bone marrow of unclean animals.

ShirleyW Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:31pm
post #15 of 32

I did a search for Halal Fondant and came up with mostly Halal sweets. And the majority of them were Thai websites, although it also mentioned health food stores. So it sounds as though the ingredients can be purchased and then make your own fondant?

dodibug Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 6:44pm
post #16 of 32

Here is some info:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

Because of the significance of following the strict guidelines for this I would suggest speaking the recipient of the cake and ask for a run-down of the allowablew ingredients so there are no problems.

muslimgirl Posted 20 Nov 2011 , 7:48am
post #17 of 32

Ingredients:
Marshmallows
water
icing sugar

Method:
Put a plate of marshmallows with a little bit of water into a microwave until the marshmallows are melted. Then put into a big bowl and keep adding icing sugar until it gets to fondant mixture. Roll out onto bench and keep kneading until nice and smooooth( make sure u keep adding a little bit of icing sugar on the bench so the fondant does not get stuck!) Store up to a week in an airtight container.

Sorry i have to work out the measurements. icon_biggrin.gifthumbs_up.gif

Shamz Posted 20 Nov 2011 , 9:40am
post #18 of 32

Hi. This is a really simple request to fulfill. U need to ensure that no alcohol is present in yo
ur recipe, incl vanilla extract (as it contains alcohol). Check that all the ingredient packaging have certified halaal stamps. Good luck!!!

mclaren Posted 20 Nov 2011 , 12:16pm
post #19 of 32

Hi OP,

If you can get your hands on some halal gelatine, then you'll be a-ok in making some fondant yourself e.g. Michele Foster's fondant.

You can just google 'halal gelatine' and there are online stores worldwide selling these.

I'm not sure where you're at, but marshmallows by the brand of Markenburg (sp?) are certified halal. May be pricey depending on where you are, if it's imported into your country.

HTH!

FEBS Posted 20 Nov 2011 , 12:27pm
post #20 of 32

[Halal means no Pork products and no alcohol.What ever you use just make sure you read ingredients and if there is any sort of alcohol or pork(pig) products it a big no no.As for other animal fat it is ok to have it.I have never heard of not eating gelatin unless there is one of those two in it; quote]


hello everyone
Just a note to say that the above statement is not entirely correct. The product of ANY animal NOT slaughtered in accordance with Islamic rites is regarded as Non Halaal and unsuitable for Muslim consumption. As far as pork and alcohol are concerned, these will ALWAYS be regarded as Non icon_smile.gif Halaal irrespective of its source.
Gelatine obtained from animals slaughtered in accordance with Islamic rites will be regarded as Halaal.

Thanx icon_smile.gif [/quote]

Biya Posted 20 Nov 2011 , 1:09pm
post #21 of 32

I use the "easy marshmallow fondant" recipe from this site for both kosher and halal cakes. It is made with marshmallow fluff which does not contain animal by-products. It has past the test of Jewish and Pakistani friends and taste good enough that I use it more often than not. I know that you can purchase kosher marshmallows which was the initial suggestion of my moslem friend, however the marshmallow fluff is more readily available.

http://cakecentral.com/recipes/easy-marshmallow-fondant/

Cupcations Posted 20 Nov 2011 , 6:11pm
post #22 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by PorcelainDollQueen

I need to halal fondant to make my cakes. So, does anyone know how to make fondant that is halal? Or atleast know where to get the halal fondant XD; I am completely clueless!



~>PorcelainDollQueen<~





I always use Satin Ice it has no a gelatin & no alcohol so that's an option.
Also you can purchase Halal gelatin online

http://www.halalgelatine.com/

HTH

KitchenKat Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 1:35am
post #23 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by PorcelainDollQueen

I need to halal fondant to make my cakes. So, does anyone know how to make fondant that is halal? Or atleast know where to get the halal fondant XD; I am completely clueless!



~>PorcelainDollQueen<~




Where are you located? If you're in Asia, PM me and I might have a supplier for you.

mclaren Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 6:58am
post #24 of 32

Yup, SatinIce and Pettinice (by Bakels) both do not contain gelatine, so you can safely use those.

muslimgirl Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 10:48am
post #25 of 32

What people have replied about my recipe waz correct. I have misrsed alot out of my comment before and i forgot to say to make sure the products are halal. Alot of the time i cant find halal marshmallows,does anyone have another solution for halal fondant and is the wilton one halal?

justliloleme Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 11:58am
post #26 of 32

I make my own marshmallows for MMF as I can never find a pack of all white marshmallows in large quantities in the UK.

Could you make your own and use vege gelatine instead of the normal stuff?


Just a thought.

mclaren Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 12:41pm
post #27 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by muslimgirl

What people have replied about my recipe waz correct. I have misrsed alot out of my comment before and i forgot to say to make sure the products are halal. Alot of the time i cant find halal marshmallows,does anyone have another solution for halal fondant and is the wilton one halal?




If you read the comments above, you will find info shared by a PP on where to purchase halal gelatine (presumably from Islamically slaughtered bovine source) to make your own fondant, and also as I and another PP had shared above, you can try sourcing either SatinIce or Pettinice as they do not have gelatine as one of their ingredients.

Good luck!

mclaren Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 12:49pm
post #28 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by muslimgirl

What people have replied about my recipe waz correct. I have misrsed alot out of my comment before and i forgot to say to make sure the products are halal. Alot of the time i cant find halal marshmallows,does anyone have another solution for halal fondant and is the wilton one halal?




If you read the comments above, you will find info shared by a PP on where to purchase halal gelatine (presumably from Islamically slaughtered bovine source) to make your own fondant, and also as I and another PP had shared above, you can try sourcing either SatinIce or Pettinice as they do not have gelatine as one of their ingredients.

Good luck!

dulce925 Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 2:01pm
post #29 of 32

I've made fondant with the marshmallow fluff and it turned out just fine. They do sell halal marshmallows,but they're a little harder than regular,so I've never tried working with those.

aprilismaius Posted 21 Nov 2011 , 7:57pm
post #30 of 32

I emailed both Satin Ice and Pettinice about this subject. Here are the responses:

Pettinice:
"We would advise that we currently do not have Halal certification
for the Fondants. However we can confirm that the product does not
contain any ingredients or manufactured on any equipment that would
contravene Halal requirement and could issue a statement to this effect
if this would help."

Satin Ice:
"Thank you for contacting Satin Fine Foods. We are not currently Halal certified but will become certified early 2012. We will be moving into a new warehouse at the end of December and then we will commence on completing certification. If you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at your earliest convenience."

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%