Is Anyone Decorating From Home And Making Money?

Business By FlourChick Updated 12 Apr 2005 , 7:41pm by ilithiya

FlourChick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourChick Posted 3 Aug 2004 , 10:45pm
post #1 of 55

Hi! I just found this site and I'm wondering if there are any decorators working from home. I have a culinary degree and have worked for several years as a decorator at bakeries, but we're moving out of state and I want to start making cakes from home for money. Eventually I want to have my own shop, but I can't afford that right now. I'm trying to generate some money so I can move in the direction of getting a shop. I can bake, set-up and decorate a cake but that is where my expertise ends! I would love to hear from other decorators how they got their start. Do you consider this income and therefore pay taxes, and if so, how and how much? Is there some type of computer program that I can get that will help me? Do you have some type of insurance to protect you if someone were to get sick? I truly have no idea where to start and would love and appreciate all the help and advice you might have! Thank you!
MDM

54 replies
Zabrip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Zabrip Posted 3 Aug 2004 , 11:16pm
post #2 of 55

You'll find all types of decorators here. Some do it as a hobby and others do it for money, some from home and some have shops. The place to start would be to contact the City that you are moving to and ask what thier requirements are for home bakers. Some cities are linient and others just wont allow it. After you have this information you can decided weather or not you want to make it legal right off the bat of try flying under the radar untill you can start a shop.

As far as insurance and taxes it is just like any other business, well thats if you legal, if your not legal then your just taking that risk.

FlourChick Posted 4 Aug 2004 , 12:05am
post #3 of 55