Buttercream on fondant

Decorating By southerncake Updated 28 Jun 2007 , 6:51pm by kansaslaura

southerncake Posted 3 Aug 2004 , 6:21pm
post #1 of 7

I just recently started using fondant and just last night made my first batch of marshmallow fondant.

Can you put buttercream roses/flowers on a fondant-covered cake?

I need to take a cake to church tomorrow night (nothing fancy) and I wanted to cover it in fondant, but I don't have time to make royal icing roses, but do have some buttercream in the fridge.

Thanks in advance!

Amy icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
Zabrip Posted 3 Aug 2004 , 7:48pm
post #2 of 7

I wouldnt do that, the buttercream on top of the fondant will break down the fondant and it just wouldnt look right. You can use any left over fondant to mold some flowers, or purchase some pre made royal icing flowers. If the design allows you can also use silk flowers.

Kimbean Posted 23 Aug 2004 , 3:01pm
post #3 of 7

I'm new to this, and way still in the learning process. (Taking classes right now, I'm currently taking Cake Art II and other assorted classes on the weekends)

Wilton.com, when you search for "fondant", the first thing that comes up is about Rolled Fondant. It says you can decorate your rolled fondant based cake with either royal or buttercream icing.

I don't know who is right - but I would like to know. I don't think I would ever use fondant if I have to decorate in Royal Icing - it tastes so gross. I mean it isn't bad for certain flowers that are on the cake, but to have to do shells, borders, ropes and everything on the entire cake in royal, YUCK!! At least if it is just flowers, people can just take them off.