Chocolate Mousse Cake

Decorating By SScakes Updated 11 Nov 2005 , 3:23pm by aunt-judy

SScakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SScakes Posted 7 Nov 2005 , 9:47am
post #1 of 12

Hi

I have an order for a chocolate mousse cake for a 4yr olds birthday. The client wants an edible image.
The stress I have is that I have never done a chocolate mousse cake before.
Questions that I have.....
1. Will the cake hold up or will the top layer of the cake squeeze the mousse?
2. Will icing the cake in fresh cream work with the chocolate mousse?

11 replies
flayvurdfun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flayvurdfun Posted 7 Nov 2005 , 2:16pm
post #2 of 12

I have made one of these before. The cake will be great for decorating, but the choc mousse frosting may not hold up to an edible image. It's even more fluffy then whipped frosting.

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 7 Nov 2005 , 3:10pm
post #3 of 12

You won't be able to use an edible image with whipped cream. You can use one with whipped buttercream or non-dairy whipped topping.

MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 7 Nov 2005 , 3:20pm
post #4 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamani

Hi

I have an order for a chocolate mousse cake for a 4yr olds birthday. The client wants an edible image.
The stress I have is that I have never done a chocolate mousse cake before.
Questions that I have.....
1. Will the cake hold up or will the top layer of the cake squeeze the mousse?
2. Will icing the cake in fresh cream work with the chocolate mousse?

..the mousse should hold up just fine in between the layers but make sure you put a good "dam" of icing around the edge of the bottom layer first..this will prevent the mousse from squeezing out in between. You can't use and kind of "loose" icingon top when applying an edible image.

CranberryClo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CranberryClo Posted 7 Nov 2005 , 6:23pm
post #5 of 12