So Many Questions?

Business By peca87 Updated 2 Nov 2005 , 6:29pm by peca87

peca87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peca87 Posted 1 Nov 2005 , 10:10pm
post #1 of 5

Hello fellow Yellow Rose's of Texas. thumbs_up.gif
I am just starting out making cakes and was just looking into what other people have done with starting a "home" business of cake decorating. And I have to ask a dumb question here: If we are going to make cakes from our homes and then sell them do we have to have a license? If so what type? Food handlers? And where can I find what I can do and can not do with having a business from my home doing cakes?
Yikes!!! So many question's!! icon_eek.gif
Thanks,
Cyndi

4 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 1 Nov 2005 , 11:24pm
post #2 of 5

Laws/guidelines sometimes vary from county to county but Earlene is a fellow yellow rose icon_smile.gif . Might want to check out her articles on the business of cake decorating.

http://www.earlenescakes.com/business.htm

ShelbysYummys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShelbysYummys Posted 1 Nov 2005 , 11:35pm
post #3 of 5

no advice here!! from what I understand ther is no such thing as a licensed home baker California or at least in SF bay area.
I wish you much luck!!! thumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gif
michelle

alimonkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alimonkey Posted 2 Nov 2005 , 1:10am
post #4 of 5

Here is a link to some info I posted about Texas - how to start a small business. Some of it is food-specific and some of it isn't. It's mostly steps to take and numbers to call for starting up.
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-6777.html