Need Your Feedback

Business By MoniJ Updated 11 Dec 2014 , 12:36pm by MoniJ

MoniJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MoniJ Posted 11 Dec 2014 , 2:03am
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the forum and have been reading lots of threads.  I am a Cottage Food baker with a full time job.  I bake cupcakes and bundt cakes that are all natural and organic, the majority of my ingredients are organic. 

I come to you today for your thoughts.

A lady I know came to me before Thanksgiving and stated the company she works for was thinking of ordering 46 cakes to give to their customers for Christmas.  We discussed price and she said they needed to work out a schedule with me since they wanted to deliver them to their customers.  I offer to provide them with a sample of my Carrot Cake.  I even gave a small discount for the volume.

I delivered the sample to them the day before Thanksgiving.  I called her on December 1st and left her a detailed voice message that I needed to know if they were going to place an order so we could get 50% down and I could get the supplies I needed because I do not stock enough for that volume. 

She is just now getting back with me today.  And now wants 7 1/2 dozen cupcakes and 14 cakes. They want them next Tues, Wed and Thurs.

I don't have time to get bulk ingredients or more pans, I have 2 cake pans. It takes over an hour to make one cake. 

If I didn't have a full time 12 hour a day job last minute might be okay.

My thoughts are to let her know I left her a detailed messaged and her timing in getting back to me and I can't deliver in that time line.   I can't bake all of it over the weekend and it still be fresh by Tues and Wed.

Please let me know your thoughts.  Thanks!!!

6 replies
Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 11 Dec 2014 , 2:41am
post #2 of 7