Make A Fondant Flag And Transfer It At A Later Date

Decorating By amhah Updated 18 Nov 2014 , 1:08am by amhah

amhah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amhah Posted 18 Nov 2014 , 12:24am
post #1 of 6

Hello, I have been on this site many times for all the helpful tips out there but this is my first time posting. I couldn't find anything similar that was helpful/hopeful so here goes. I have to make a cake this coming weekend for a graduation ceremony for a customer. She wants a 3 tiered cake with a fondant american flag draped down the layers. I am not too concerned with how to do either, the trouble comes into play in the set up. I refuse after a horrid past experience to ever again travel with an assembled tiered cake. I always ALWAYS set up on site now. Since the flag needs to cascade down all 3 tiers, obviously it cannot be put on the cake until the day of after assembly on site. I have no idea how I can do this as fondant, in my experience, can be a beast to work with, especially large pieces. How can I preserve the flag and make sure it goes onto the cake without cracking and becoming a huge mess? Any help will be so gratefully appreciated. Thanks!! 

5 replies
Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 18 Nov 2014 , 12:27am
post #2 of 6

ASomeone posted a similar question this week except she was doing a sari and it was 5 tiers. She got some replies which might help you. I'll see if I can find the thread and post a link...

amhah Posted 18 Nov 2014 , 12:33am
post #3 of 6

Thank you thank you thank you! I will take anything I can get :)

Dayti Posted 18 Nov 2014 , 12:35am
post #4 of 6

Ahttp://www.cakecentral.com/t/780538/drape-on-5-tier-cake#post_7561321