What Do You Do If You Get Sick?

Decorating By luvmykids2bits Updated 24 Oct 2014 , 11:22pm by freesia777

luvmykids2bits Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvmykids2bits Posted 11 Oct 2014 , 5:24pm
post #1 of 23

I've been doing cakes for two years now, and so far so good, but I have an order in a few days (Wednesday) and my throat is getting scratch and sore and my ears are sore and I've started coughing.  We've had a bug going through our house that has knocked my husband out for six days and my son for 14 days (his turned into pneumonia).  I hate, hate, hate the thought of backing out of an order I've already committed to, but I feel crummy and suspect it will only get worse.  I'd rather back out with enough time for her to make other arrangements than wait until the last minute and cancel on her.  It's a small 8 inch birthday cake.

How do others handle orders if they get sick?

22 replies
jenmat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenmat Posted 11 Oct 2014 , 5:58pm
post #2 of 23

I've been in business for going on 7 years and in all those 7 years I've never gotten so sick I can't work. You just power through. that said, I have backups that can help me. Once I burned my hand (palm) so badly that I had to go to the emergency room and have it in a wrap for a week. Having helpers be my hands was a huge blessing. 

All that said, for an 8" birthday cake, I would probably back out. I do weddings, and there is no backing out of those. If you think you'll be in bed, just apologize, give the customers suggestions for a last minute baker, or make the cake today and refrigerate it or prep it as much as you can so that putting it together will only take a tiny bit of your time. 
Hope you feel better soon!

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 11 Oct 2014 , 6:00pm
post #3 of 23