Princess Elsa From Disneys Frozen

Decorating By Filey Cakes Updated 28 Aug 2014 , 4:39am by simplyme4469

Filey Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Filey Cakes Posted 22 May 2014 , 11:21pm
post #1 of 22

AHi everyone, I'm new to Cake Central, & cake decorating. I'm trying to make Princess Elsa from Disneys Frozen, but I'm struggling to do her face. I can do cartoon type faces but a Disney Princess requires more detail, particularly the eyes. After watching a video online I bought some edible paints & luster dust but I want to make the edible paint dry more quickly so I have more time for more practice attempts, at the rate I'm going I'm only managing to do one attempt a day because of how long it's taking for each layer of paint to dry. Any tips on how to make the paint dry more quickly would be appreciated, well, any advice on how to make a good Princess Elsa would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

21 replies
2txmedics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2txmedics Posted 4 Jun 2014 , 7:54am
post #2 of 22

Noticed you got no replies, did you already do your Frozen theme cake??? I just did one a few days ago, its in my albums....not sure what your needing to know or what you work with. I work with Candy melts....

Filey Cakes Posted 4 Jun 2014 , 10:05am
post #3 of 22

AThanks so much! The Frozen cake is due this Saturday. I don't know anything about candy melts, how do you use them? I don't think they are readily available in the UK, I have to order most things online as it is cos I live in a tiny town. I'm using fondant to sculpt Elsa, I found a video online but I think my art skills are letting me down, I'm struggling to get her face to look right, the shape, the nose, the eyes & lips and also the hair, I just can't get any of it to look right regardless of how many times I look at pics or watch the video... Any advice on sculpting with fondant, any advice on making the face look right and any advice on hair colour would all be much appreciated!