Earth Balance And Swiss Meringue Butter Cream

Baking By JWinslow Updated 29 Jan 2015 , 3:31pm by Bekah913

JWinslow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JWinslow Posted 29 Jun 2013 , 4:04pm
post #1 of 24

Hello All,

Has anyone used Earth Balance butter substitute when making Swiss Meringue Butter Cream?   SMB is my go to icing but I need to make a dairy free version.  I've been searching for a recipe but also the tips that can make or break it as I have no experience using butter substitutes. Any suggestions and advice would be gratefully welcomed. 

Jeanne

23 replies
JWinslow Posted 29 Jun 2013 , 4:30pm
post #2 of 24

Please?  Anyone ? 

auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 30 Jun 2013 , 12:41am
post #3 of 24

Butter is approx. 80% fat. As long as the butter substitute has the equivalent percentage of fat, it should work. Use Earth Balance baking sticks not the spread [from tubs].

JWinslow Posted 30 Jun 2013 , 1:41am
post #4 of 24

Thanks so much for the reply.  I bought the sticks.  I'm concerned about the water content and meringue.  I thought I would experiment first before I have to actually do the cake.  I have seen recipes where some confectioners sugar is added to the stiff meringue (before adding a mix of butter and Crisco.) 

Thought I might try this route to see what happens.  What do you think?

lorieleann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lorieleann Posted 30 Jun 2013 , 6:10am
post #5 of 24

you can always try!  I would think that the water content in the earth balance, as well as the added salt would not make for a good buttercream.  

If i had to make a dairy-free SMBC, I would sub the butter for  hi-ratio shortening, and if that wasn't available I would use crisco with a TON of butter-vanilla flavor to try to make up the taste.  I actually have subed half hi-ratio in my SMBC for heat stability and while it isn't the same, it is a tasty end result (very marshmallowish)

auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile