Help!! My Candy Melts Are Not Melting Enough!

Sugar Work By LittleBaker1218 Updated 13 Nov 2014 , 12:06am by ConfectioneryH

LittleBaker1218 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleBaker1218 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 2:53am
post #1 of 19

I'm having a crisis here! this is my first time making cake pops and my candy melts are not melting enough for me to just dip the pops and take them out! and the chocolate is so thick that my pops (balls) are coming off the stick! icon_cry.gif PLEASE HELP ME!! is there a way to make the candy melt really really runny and I'm not doing???? PLEASE HELP!!! icon_sad.gif

18 replies
shebellas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shebellas Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 3:06am
post #2 of 19

how are you melting them?

yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 3:07am
post #3 of 19

Thin it out with a few drops of vegetable (sp?) or canola oil. Careful that you don't use too much, they'll take forever to dry. That should help icon_smile.gif

tamdan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tamdan Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 3:09am
post #4 of 19

What brand of candy melts are you using? I made cake pops over the weekend for my daughter's first birthday. I started off by using the Wilton candy melts and it was a disaster. The chocolate was way too thick and when I tried to pull out the cake, it just fell off the stick. Then I went out and purchased the Merkens brand candy melts and they worked out beautifully. You can try adding vegetable oil or shortening to the candy melts and see if that helps.

cakeflake80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeflake80 Posted 20 Jul 2011 , 4:49am
post #5 of 19

Also, make sure you are melting them in a glass bowl (if you are using the microwave). I tried melting a brand new bag of yellow melts a couple months ago and it was thick and clumpy and just refused to melt. I had them in a plastic tupperware container. I moved them to a glass pryrex bowl and they melted!