Pricing For Chocolate Covered Strawberries??

Business By sugartopped Updated 20 Jan 2015 , 1:20pm by RachelRay83

sugartopped Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugartopped Posted 20 Feb 2006 , 9:31pm
post #1 of 20

Hello, got a quick question.....someone is ordering a strawberry shortcake bday cake and would like to order chocolate covered strawberries also. The cake will serve 36-40 and she isn't sure if she wants 30-40 strawberries or 40-50 strawberries. I told her w/the cake she should probably go with 30-40 strawberries. But she wants to make sure she has enough...so I think she will end up going with 40-50 strawberries!!

But anyway, I've never done these before (for sale)...so not sure what to charge. I priced strawberries at wal-mart and it is 2 sm contatiners for $5. I'm not sure how many come in a container though....I'm guessing around 8-10 strawberries per container.

I've never bought them from around here...so I'm not sure what they go for in my area. But I gave her a guess and told her probably $4-$5 per dozen?? Does this sound about right?? I don't mind going a bit higher...but would also like to take into account she is ordering a cake from me also.

Any suggestions??
Thanks in Advance
Christine

19 replies
alimonkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alimonkey Posted 20 Feb 2006 , 9:35pm
post #2 of 20

I have seen them as low as $7/doz and as high as $25/doz. $5/dozen will barely cover your costs, never mind the time it takes to do it. I would not do them for less than $8/doz but would more likely charge $10 or more.

Cakeman66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeman66 Posted 20 Feb 2006 , 10:30pm
post #3 of 20

No less than $1 each. ever. Unless it's over a certain amount.

Time travelling to the store, gas, etc. all cost you. Those aren't freebies.

The price break for me comes starting at 3 dozen. Then it's only a bit off.

Helendelk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Helendelk Posted 20 Feb 2006 , 10:34pm
post #4 of 20